The Design Process : Using your favorite beads.

Yesterday , my design juices where flowing like never before and I decided to really exploit my creative skills. I needed a story, and I had a craving for a hefty necklace.

After stringing my African beads , I added these ancient silver links acquired as my “going away” present from my friend Leah.
I tried channeling her aesthetic because it is really clean and she is brilliant at layering components to create these luscious pieces (She has a great eye and great sources for wonderful ancient beads and components). Leah is the main designer of fantastical silver and gold components at NINA DESIGNS. I use many of Nina Designs components in all my designs.
After trying on the simple strand I had just finished stringing, I realized it made a great layering piece but it needed “Je ne sais quoi”. I knew I wanted a strong focal centerpiece and my story was incomplete so I wrote the following:

Those who know me well also know that I LOVE bats. I fell in love with them when I traveled throughout Bali, Indonesia. Bats are considered holy in Bali and their “drippings” are medicinal. I love how cute their faces are. Despite their scary appearance they are wonderful creatures that are remarkably human like.

I relate to bats because despite my “Scary” appearance, I am kind and seek to heal those around me. Additionally, I am most alive late at Night!

It became clear that the necklace would be one that could be worn at night; say to a concert or to a party so I decided to add some chain.

AHA! a tassel of chain (very me )! Then it all came to me, perfect time to resurrect my little Bat Netsuke bead presented to me a few years ago by Leah. I added some ancient glass beads and as a little inside joke, I added a little bead cap to the top of the bat’s head.Laying out my story

Making a tassel

Making a tassel

wirewrapping the tassel
Adding a bead cap and Roman Glass

Adding a bead cap and Roman Glass


Viola! Here’s my Netsuke Tassel Fantastical Necklace. Now I need to figure out how to attach a clasp to the silk string I am using. For now a super tight knot will do , any suggestions?
I need a hand please

I need a hand please

4 Comments

Filed under How Jewelery is made

4 responses to “The Design Process : Using your favorite beads.

  1. Juanita

    What a great story! I love what you did with your gift! You are also a wonderful designer. Keep up the inspiring work.

  2. Yo – GREAT necklace! I love the thinking cap on the bat’s head. I wish you were here in person so we could all examine your latest creation in person, but at least we can enjoy through your photos and story. Keep those creative juices flowing!

  3. Clara

    Hi Yoli! I miss seeing your creations in person, but am so glad you are blogging about them! You treasure necklaces always surprise me.

  4. I love hearing more about your process. I always admire how your pieces have a story that is integrated into the design. Good work!

    Also, I must say I’ve never thought of you as having a “Scary” appearance!

Leave a Reply

