Flappery disaster – Cleaning of the closet / cabinet de toilette

This morning drinking Coffee and reading the New Yorker, an article about Kelly Wearstler birthed a fascination for Elsie de wolfe. Pumpkin pie and a lukewarm beverage in hand, I scrolled through the pages of her book , The House in Good Taste, The Century Company, 1913. Elsie mentions the necessity of a personal closet or a “Cabinet de Toilette”.

I am lucky enough to have a walking closet so I attempted to organize it as such. She implores clean white walls and simplicty. Instead, I recomend color and an assortment of all the things that inspire you. I immediately placed hooks everywhere and hung my plethora of necklaces and scarves. I dug out an old miniture armoire and turned it into a jewelry display. I hung pictures of flappers and stashed journals and a 1920’s book on flappery stuff under my mirror. Lastly, I junked all things gross: old ugly “loungy comfy clothes”, christmas gifts that never fit, and once too cute shoes that have gone aray!  From under all my mess, out came my flapper dress, my cloche, and more eccentricities to treasure! Hurray, I now have a boudoir where I can prepare for a flappery night.

2 Comments

Filed under Home Decore

2 responses to “Flappery disaster – Cleaning of the closet / cabinet de toilette

  1. How inspiring! I wish I had such an inspiring dressing room. I’m glad you’re back to blogging!

  2. Thanks Emily, I had to fight Andrew for the closet. It used to be a computer parts storage room / man closet and now its re-incarnation is better. I think.

Leave a Reply

